21 October 2010

Yo La Tengo

Popular Songs   Fakebook

Yo La Tengo is an American alternative rock band formed in Hoboken, New Jersey in 1984. Since 1992, the lineup has consisted of Ira Kaplan (guitars, piano, vocals), Georgia Hubley (drums, piano, vocals), and James McNew (bass, vocals).

Five Seasons: A Baseball CompanionYo La Tengo translates from Spanish to "I have it" which is said to be the phrase called out by Hispanic baseball players when fielding a pop fly ball. Ira Kaplan picked up the expression from the book The Five Seasons by Roger Angell.

The band has had some commercial success, but has always been known as a "critics' band" and has a devoted cult following especially in the NY/NJ area.

The band is known for its incredible repertoire of cover songs in live performances and often does radio appearances on WFMU and live shows at Maxwell's in Hoboken, NJ.

 Prisoners of Love: A Smattering of Scintillating [2 disc]

Yo La Tengo music from Amazon.com

Official Band Site: http://www.yolatengo.com

No comments:

Post a Comment