16 January 2013

Stone Temple Pilots

The American rock band, Stone Temple Pilots (sometimes just abbreviated as STP) was formed in San Diego, California in the mid-1980s.

The band members include Scott Weiland (lead vocals), Robert DeLeo (bass guitar, vocals) and his brother Dean DeLeo (guitar) and Eric Kretz (drums, percussion).

At first, they were named "Mighty Joe Young,"  but after signing a recording contract with Atlantic Records, they needed  a name change. Mighty Joe Young had played several gigs but they discovered while recording their first album that there was already a blues singer who went under that name.

The story is that the band members had liked the STP Motor Oil stickers and decided to use that and make up something to fit the abbreviation. After throwing out ideas, they settled without a lot of thought on "Stone Temple Pilots" without it having any deeper symbolic meaning. Weiland recalled in an interview in Spin magazine that another possibility was "Shirley Temple’s Pussy."

Their debut album, Core (1992) was a hit and they were one of the most commercially successful bands of the 1990s.

They released four more studio albums: Purple (1994), Core (1996), No 4 (1999) and Shangri-LA DEE DA (2001).

The band split up in 2003 and band members moved on to other bands including Velvet Revolver and Army of Anyone.

STP reformed in 2008 for a reunion tour and ended up releasing a new self-titled album, Stone Temple Pilots in 2010 and have been touring since.

No comments:

Post a Comment